Chiswick (formerly Old Meadonians) RFC was founded in 1958 to provide rugby football for the former pupils of Chiswick County Grammar School for boys.
Our former name derives from Dukes Meadows, where the School is also sited and are affiliated to the Old Meadonians Association, incorporating independent Rugby, Football and Cricket Clubs.
In the early days the team played its matches at the School but with the formation of the ‘A’ XV, pitches were loaned from UCS Old Boys at Gower Road, Osterley in the early Sixties. In the spring of 1962, two pitches with a clubhouse were rented from Spelthorne Sports Club in Sunbury. This move consolidated the establishment of the club as it could now boast its own bar where it could fittingly entertain visiting teams. At this time, some 20 years before the introduction of the Leagues, fixture making and improvement proved difficult but the outstanding performance of the two teams was gradually recognized with fixtures gained versus current London Division 1 Clubs.
During the early Seventies the club moved to Riverside Lands, Dukes Meadows in Chiswick and transformed the old dilapidated pavilion changing rooms previously used by the School into a welcoming clubhouse.
The recruitment policy of receiving Old Boys from Chiswick School came to a gradual end in the early Nineties and the Club responded by changing the name and becoming fully ‘open’ to align itself to a wider community together with increased sponsorship opportunities. The change was celebrated on 6th October 1996 with a match versus England Classicals, which included the likes of Peter Winterbottom and Paul Rendall.
In 1999, arsonists destroyed the Clubhouse and a long painstaking process was begun to re-build the Clubhouse, which was finally achieved and officially opened on 6th November 2005 by Andy Ripley.